top of page

Day in the Sun

Dear Readers,

Today we went to the beach. By "we" I mean Maui, my good friend Derek, and me hopped in a car around 2 p.m. deciding the MH was WAAAY too HOT to for my buppy and drove to good ole Beer Can Beach. Days at the beach are my favorite days. There's just something about having the sand between your toes, listening to the waves crash on the shore, and coming home with sand in places you forgot you even had! And also a bunch of basic pictures of you with beach hair. I for one do not like my beach hair, so if you're one of those people who gets really pretty hair when you go to the beach you can leave now and stop reading. You're not welcome here...

ok I'm kidding you can stay. Just don't mention your perfect hair and we can still be friends.

In other news, the last few days since my first blog post have been fairly successful:

I submitted my proposal for my International Studies major as part of the Individual Studies Program offered though the wonderful Santa Clara University. I built the major with help from Gonzaga's International Studies program so if you go there, props to your awesome university! I am so thankful that SCU gives their students the opportunity to study something they are truly passionate about and not force them to conform to a major they are less than completely happy with. Its a real privilege that Broncos have and other Broncos should really take advantage of the opportunity should they not be happy with the major they are currently in and have dreams of studying something they thought before impossible. I am here to tell you it is so stop wishing and contact the ISP director!! I read an article today that pretty much was saying that people really need to get over themselves and go do that thing that they have been thinking about doing for a really long time. Thinking about doing something does not get that thing done. Actions make things happen!!

Speaking of which, I also became a member of Hey! VINA, a mobile application that connects strong women to other strong women via the interwebs. So far I have made only a small number of connections, but really great ones that I have had so much fun talking to and getting to know. I basically have met my other self and she's wonderful! I hope we meet and become real great friends IRL. VINA also has a "Vinazine" which is sorta like a magazine? but imagine like Buzzfeed articles that you read on Facebook only better written and useful for a gal's every day life. They also started a VINA book club and the first book was Almost Adulting by Arden Rose. I read the book in four consecutive hours without putting it down. It is just that good. So if you're like me and you want a nice quick read that also offers some amazing advice for growing up and becoming a full-fledged adult, have at it! VINA also has a couple quizzes on the mobile app that tell you "Who you really are" by an inkblot test and "What planet you are from". Just FYI, I am ambitious, and reach for the stars, as well as from Venus, so I am "feminine, sultry, and fun". So there you have it. Honestly, if your friends are gone for the summer or you're home for the summer/just moved to wherever you may be, join VINA and find yourself a kick-ass girl squad because every girl needs one of those. Also I need a new book to read so let's suggest something for that too, yes?

Other things I have done...thinking, thinking...I made myself a pot of coffee this morning! That was fun because I have never done that before... I know... But there's a first for everything right? hehe...

I built a website for a consulting agency so that's pretty cool. Coding and knowing how to use programs like photoshop are actually really good skills to have. I learned all my coding (mainly HTML) in the last year and it is actually not that hard. Being HTML literate actually opens up a lot of job opportunities so if you want to add another skill to your resume that would be one I recommend. Another skill that I am hearing less and less college students say that they know is Microsoft Excel and let me just tell you that SO MANY JOBS need you to be Microsoft Office Literate. SO MANY. Sure you may not use Excel for much NOW, but I can pretty much guarantee you that at some point in your career you are going to need Excel so learn now and impress your employers. It really is not that easy and even if you're not super computer savvy, there are YouTube videos nowadays for literally EVERYTHING. Go learn a new skill, its fun!

One more final thing, a rant really, and I could really use some advice/wisdom here because it is STRESSING me OUT and stress is not good for the body so please please send me some good vibes:

I applied for my passport back in May and the lady at the city hall building that did all my passport stuff promised it would be here BEFORE JULY 4th. OK yeah today is only June 22, Cat whyyy are you freaking out?! WELL. I got a letter that said that my picture that I took at the City Hall place was DENIED because I was not wearing "normal clothing". FYI, I was wearing a black strapless romper (YES a romper, send in the memes!) that is visible in the photos so I was clearly wearing clothes and NOT naked, but either way... I sent in NEW photos last week on Friday without over-nighting them because I am dumb and yes I admit I made a mistake there.. But I have called the passport office of San Francisco multiple times now and they have not gotten my picture and cannot tell me if I need to cancel my consulate date on July 7th! SO THAT IS WHY I AM FREAKING OUT!! I need a visa for my studying abroad and I cannot make a just-in-case consulate appointment without cancelling the one I had on July 7th! So PLEASE SEND ME SOME GOOD KARMA!!! I need it!!

So there you go. I am stressed. But lucky to have had an awesome last couple of days that were surely super relaxing and much needed. So yay! One last thing: I am looking for a Hot Yoga place to join in the Santa Clara area? Suggestions? Thanks loves!

Ciao for now!

Cat

Related Posts

See All
bottom of page